As I finish the books God has set forth for me to write, I look at each character and find my readers. In Damia there is myself, but in Reed there is my future husband. In book eight, the weight of being the head of the house, the bishop, and the leader gets to be too much for Reed; he tries to make the decision to run away or stay.

Below I will share the heart wrenching words that won’t be published until the fall, but I ask you this: What are you expectations of LOVE from your spouse? When you ask them to be on the same page what exactly does that mean? Is that just your page or their page? When do you create a story that shows you as one, not as two?

Throughout this blog we have talked about the LORD and what He desires for our lives as married people, but we are still lacking in understanding what love is. Here is Reed’s cry for help from two parts of book eight.

In his mind, he thought about quitting. Reed thought about going back to the beginning of his life when Damia left Milwaukee. Reed contemplated purchasing a ticket to the states and returning to Wisconsin a retired law enforcement officer with a home in the northern part of the state.

“I just ….” He started; he looked over at Damia filled with great emotion. He couldn’t hold back his tears. “I can’t do this.” Reed dropped his head in his right hand squeezing Damia’s hand with the other.

“Reed…” Damia said.

“Get up.” Anthony said to her, “Move over here by Sabrina.” Damia had to snatch her hand away to move from Reed; he wouldn’t let go.

Anthony and Peter sat next to Reed and started to pray. The women sat in silence praying in their heads as God took over the inside of the Jet.

The power of prayer in numbers helps those we love to keep them from getting lost.

“Help me, my love. Help me.” Reed fell to his knees started crying buckets of tears. “I’m so sorry. I need you, Damia. I need your help. I know I need God and I know he’s here, but I need you. I’m afraid I’ll wake up and the rapture would have come and you’re gone. That we’re both gone and I would have forgotten you. I would have forgotten all of what I’ve been doing for almost a year. I need you Damia! I’m scared this interview will cause you to be vulnerable and in all that we know God is around us that someone will hurt you and take you from me. I love you. There isn’t anything else I want to do without you Damia and there isn’t anything I want to ever do alone. I’m not that man. I’m not. I want to protect you for the rest of your life until I DIE FIRST. OH my God…”

Damia was on her knees holding her husband as he cried rocking him back and forth. “My God.”

 

What are your expectations of love?

1 Corinthians 13 (NKJV)

The Greatest Gift

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,[a]but have not love, it profits me nothing.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part. 10 But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.

 

Leave a Reply

