Voices is a series of blog posts I’m sharing from my book of the same name:

VOICES: The truth, the pain, the love and the choice. 

Ladies, some of us have been the side chick; you know the one that plays second to the main chick and get all of the left overs from a man WE CAN’T EVEN CHEAT ON??

Yes, well today, I’m writing from the voice of the other woman. Not just the side chick, piece of pie waiting in the rafters but the woman YOUR MAN is in love with.

Step inside the bedroom and listen on in this conversation.

“We are not having this conversation, Paul.”

“We must, Sara, we must.”

Sara was speaking to Paul, on speaker phone, while getting ready for bed.

“Paul, this is just a ploy to get over here; it’s not happening.”

“I want to talk about leaving my wife.” Paul’s voice sounded strained.

“Paul, you are not leaving your wife.”

“I am.”

“Whatever, I’m going to bed, Paul. I might even have company tonight.” Sara said sacastically while sipping on some wine.

“Sara…”

“What?”

“I’ve been doing this all wrong, and I’m sorry. We need to talk; please open your door.” It was after 11pm; Sara looked towards her bedroom door and down the hall as Paul said, “I’m outside, in the rain, please open the door.”

Sara trotted down the stairs to the front door and looked through the glass to see rain pouring down and Paul in it. She threw open the door and said, “You didnt?”

“I left my wife Sara. I told her about you and how I was-”

“What? You were what? What could you possibly have told her?” Sara was truly stunned. Late night conversations or lunch dates once a week weren’t an affair; adultery maybe but not an affair.

“I’m in love with you Sara.”

“How? By Conversation?”

“Sara…” Paul stood on the uncovered porch with sad eyes, “My marriage has been over since before I met you. When we met and started to have lunch and, yes, conversations, I realized what I was missing. My entire falicy of a marriage is my fault. We married out of college, started great careers, scheduled sex, and never had time to consider kids or anything that looked like fun. Her work meetings turned into weekend vacations in other countries and my work meetings consisted of me staring at the walls in my office.”

“Wow…”

“I didn’t leave my wife because of you, but becasue you helped me see my faults. I”m not here to say I want you, let me in your bed. I don’t even know why you said that but, I’m here to say, we need to talk about this…I love you. You Sarah..not your body, but YOU.”

Sara stood looking at home not thinking he was soaking wet from the rain and her hardwod floors were beginning to show signs of flooding. Sara was stunned.

“Look, I’m checking into the Hilton for an unprecedented amount of time; I just thought you should know, by seeing my face no doubt, how I feel. I’m sorry I bothered you. Good night Sara.” Paul turned and started down the steps of the porch when Sara stopped him.

“Pauli,” She spoke his given name in almost a whisper but he heard her. He turned back with a hopeful look in his eyes, “I love you, too.” Sara released the statement from the pit of her soul scared of what this meant for them both.

Paul walked back to the door and leaned in to kiss Sara on her cheek. He whispered in her ear, “We’ll meet for lunch this week like we always do, and I’ll call you from time to time, until we know it’s right to go to the next level. I will respect you, Sara. ”

“Thank you, I agree.” She whispered back.

Paul drove off heading to the Hilton hotel; Sara didn’t close the door until the tail lights faded in the distance.

Voices, (c) 2017, B.A.D LLC dba Destined Publishing

Leave a Reply

